ⓘ Niagara Frontier


ⓘ Niagara Frontier

The Niagara Frontier refers to the stretch of land in the United States that is south of Lake Ontario and Lake Erie, and extends westward to Cleveland, Ohio. The term dates to the War of 1812, when the northern border was in contention between the United States and British forces in Canada. It refers only to the land east of the Niagara River and south of Lake Erie within the United States. The western side of the Niagara River, on the Canada/Ontario side, is the Niagara Peninsula, it is considered part of the Golden Horseshoe.

Niagara border is part of the region known as Western new York state. Niagara also forms the border of the Eastern part of the Great lakes of the Northern coast. Its southeastern boundary forms what is known as ski country, as it includes the Northern mountain area of the Appalachian foothills.

The National weather service in Buffalo, new York Niagara defines the boundaries as follows:

  • Erie County, New York north of US 20A – includes Buffalo, New York.
  • Genesee County, New York – includes Batavia, New York.
  • Orleans County, New York.
  • Niagara County, New York – includes Niagara Falls, New York.

Other, less common definitions can include the following areas:

  • Lake County, Ohio. (Лейк-Каунти, Штат Огайо)
  • Erie County, Pennsylvania – includes Erie, Pennsylvania.
  • Erie County, NY south of US 20A also known as the Buffalo Southtowns.
  • Chautauqua County, New York.
  • Ashtabula County, Ohio. (Округ Эштабула, Огайо)
  • Cuyahoga County, Ohio – includes Cleveland, Ohio.